jump to navigation

Keeping Up January 18, 2008

Posted by cjescribano in change management, information management.
trackback

How Do We Keep Up?
Today in a meeting, we were talking about all the new technologies and all the great possibilities. We were talking about how different training is now from how it was 10 years ago, and how different it will be in another 5 years. One colleague lamented, “How do we keep up with it all?” And he pointed out that for some things, like texting, he doesn’t see the value for learning.

Tools for Keeping Up
About a year ago, when I first started this blog, I was trying to figure out how to handle all the information that came pouring into my world everyday–through the computer, the phone, the front door, the mailbox. And what I identified then as possible tools were wikis, blogs, and an application called stikkit.

Strategies for Keeping Up
A year later, here’s what I’ve found that works:

  • Identifying a handful of good blogs to check regularly. They keep the most current thinking in the forefront of my mind.
  • Capturing useful information in wikis.
  • Or using a program like PersonalBrain that makes it easy to collect bits of information and map them to each other.
  • Starting a blog to force myself to try to make sense of it all.
  • Finally, jumping in and using it–doing experiments that force me out of my comfort zone.

You can’t understand the game if you’re just watching from the sidelines. Like my colleague, I used to think texting was dumb. But once I tried it, I loved it.  In the past month, my lady’s running group has pretty much given up e-mail for a wiki and texting.

And Even Further Into the Future
Another colleague told me that people are already walking around with communication chips embedded in their skin. I don’t even know how to begin to design for that kind of technology.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

