jump to navigation

Not a Blog, but a Conversation January 14, 2008

Posted by cjescribano in blogging.
Tags:
trackback

Last week, I spoke with my rector and the head of adult education about a blog for the church. My initial vision for the blog had been to provide an online Bible study to extend the great discussions we had on Sundays and to open up those discussions to people who hadn’t been able to attend. But as we talked, other good uses emerged, including:

  • To let people comment on the sermons
  • To extend the great conversations that were happening in the adult forums

There were a number of possibilities, but we couldn’t seem to hone in on any one.

Neither my rector nor the head of adult studies knows much about blogs. They are looking to me to guide them. My rector has a technical background–she used to be in IT. But the head of adult studies is admittedly not very technically savvy. She doesn’t say it, but I think the word “blog” makes her nervous. And it got me to thinking that that word may be nerve-wracking for a lot of people. The congregation at my church seems to be mostly conservative boomers who may look at “blogging” as some frivolous activity that teenagers do. The words that seemed to resonate most with the head of adult studies were “conversation” and “connection.”

That gave me an idea for the strategy for the church blog. The blog itself would focus on all the great conversations happening within the community of the church. We would not even use the word “blog.” How many times have you done a search, followed a link to a site, and realized that you were on a blog?¬†At the end of the day, a blog is just another Web site. In the case of my church, there are a lot of great conversations going on. There are sermons, Bible studies, forums, book groups, movie groups, youth groups, men’s groups, ladies’ groups, and probably more. A blog would allow those conversations to happen 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. It would allow busy people and shut-ins to participate. It would allow great discussions to continue long after it was time to go home.

I’m going to put together a blog strategy for this church this week. And the first thing I’m going to do is to lose the word “blog.” I’ll let you know how it goes.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

