jump to navigation

Focus January 11, 2008

Posted by cjescribano in Learning, NLP.
trackback

Anybody reading this blog is probably wondering–what the heck is it about? 

Honestly, sometimes I’m not sure myself. I’ve covered a wide range of topics in the last 11 days. But lifelong learning is a broad subject that can pretty much cover everything since we’re always learning whether we realize it or not. So, I end up writing about the things I’m learning and the things I want to learn about–whatever happens to inspire me on any given day.

Born to Learn
I was born to two teachers, and it appears that my mission in life is to teach. That’s what I do for a living, and also on Sundays at church. And when I’m not teaching, I’m learning. I think I’ve gotten more curious as I’ve grown up and realized that I don’t need to get good grades anymore. I can study whatever catches my fancy, and pretty much everything does. I can spend the rest of my life endlessly fascinated. Learning for me isn’t about knowing more than other people or earning degrees; it’s about the rush of that “aha” moment when you finally understand.

Logical Levels of Learning, Communication, and Change
That said, though, there’s a wonderful model developed by Robert Dilts, called the Logical Levels of Learning, Communication, and Change, which perfectly sums up all the different facets of learning.   Below is my crude rendering of this model.

 Logical Levels

What I love about this model is that it so simply pulls together all of the things that are important for learning (and communication and change). Typically, people just focus on one or two of these elements. One expert focuses on learning objectives while another focuses on competencies, and another focuses on testing and measurement.  I guess the subject of learning or teaching is too big to swallow whole. So, we chop it up into bits and then wonder why it doesn’t work.

Dilts’s model helps me to remember all the things that I need to keep in mind when I’m designing learning interventions. It forces me to look up from my learning objectives and realize that there’s a human being who has certain values and beliefs that may be in conflict with my learning objectives. And by the same token, it helps me to set up a classroom or an e-learning experience so that learning occurs.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

